Feb
19
How to Use this Subject Guide
February 19, 2010 | Leave a Comment
Welcome to the Subject Guide for Professional Studies students at the Stafford Campus of the University of Mary Washington.
Please use the tabs at the top of the screen to navigate to different areas of library and research related information. If you need to research a business or technology topic, click the Databases tab at the top of the [...]
Dec
3
10-K Reports
December 3, 2009 | Leave a Comment
10-K reports are available in the Lexis Nexis Academic and Mergent Online databases. If you need assistance in using these resources, please contact the CGPS Library.
Dec
1
Peer-reviewed Articles in Online Databases
December 1, 2009 | Leave a Comment
Evaluating articles that you have located in a database can be difficult to evaluate. Online articles do not always provide you with the same physical characteristics (advertisements, graphs, illustrations) that you would use to evaluate print articles.
Databases that search a variety of publications – such as magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers – will often [...]
Nov
5
Sending Emails from the Databases
November 5, 2009 | Leave a Comment
Many databases will allow you to email articles directly from the databases to your personal email addresses. If you choose to use this handy feature, be sure to check your email account to verify that these database emails have arrived in your email inboxes. Network issues, web traffic, and spam filters will occassionally disrupt the [...]
Aug
21
ShowMe Videos
August 21, 2009 | Leave a Comment
Doing research at the University of Mary Washington? Our ShowMe! videos guide you step-by-step through finding articles, locating books, and tracking down the information you need. Simply click on the ShowMe Video tab to view our current selection on online database tutorials.
Aug
19
New Database
August 19, 2009 | Leave a Comment
The UMW Libraries now has access to IBISWorld. IBISWorld provides full text access to hundreds of comprehensive Industry Market Research Reports. You can access this database through the “Databases A – Z” page or through the appropriate subject guide.
Aug
19
Database Changes
August 19, 2009 | Leave a Comment
As of August 18, 2009, the UMW Libraries will no longer have access to 10-K Wizard. If you need to locate 10-K reports and other company finanical information, please use the Mergent Online database or Lexis Nexis Academic.
As of August 27, 2009, the UMW Libraries will no longer have access to Standard & [...]
Aug
19
Accessing the Databases from Off-Campus
August 19, 2009 | Leave a Comment
Most of the UMW Libraries’ databases and electronic journals are licensed for use by the current students, faculty, and staff of the University of Mary Washington. To comply with the requirements mandated by these database vendors, UMW must identify each user by requiring users to login to the UMW system via a proxy server.
When you [...]
